, attached to 1995-11-21

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Fee:[/b] great choice for the opener [b]Chalk Dust Torture:[/b] awesome fast paced high energy version [b]Prince Caspian:[/b] standard [b]Divided Sky:[/b] performed beautifully [b]My Long Journey Home: [/b]acoustically standard [b]I’m Blue I’m Lonesome:[/b] another one. Love this tune, my favorite acoustic bluegrass cover from the early/mid 1990s [b]Guyute:[/b] solid [b]My Friend My Friend: [/b]short type 2 outro jam here that goes into [b]Dog Faced Boy:[/b] standard [b]Runaway Jim:[/b] set closing Jim with a sick build and peak [b] Simple:[/b] Trey quickly switches to the percussion kit and we’re type 2 to start the set. Trey and Fish find a nice groove with Page backing up on piano, sounds similar to the middle section of Free during this era. Then Page switches over to keyboards and Mike gets in on the action. After a couple minutes Fish suddenly starts the hi hat intro of… [b]David Bowie:[/b] long evil intro out of the Simple jam. This jam is immediately heavy and explorational, which leads right into [b]Take Me To The River:[/b] great shortened cover sandwiched between two phenomenal Bowie sections [b]David Bowie:[/b] this portion of the jam is more themed to the usual Bowie build and peak. Fish is playing out of his mind and after a while of building they find the ending. Really great set so far [b]Glide:[/b] good way to cool down a bit after the craziness that just occurred. Played well [b]Ya Mar:[/b] strange Fish and Trey jam, followed by a strange Mike jam, fun version [b]Mike’s Song:[/b] YES YES YES. After a sick first jam, they decide to keep going and break off into type 2 in glorious fashion. The last few minutes are so gorgeous and why I love this era so much. Fantastic times infinity [b]Keyboard Army: [/b]after teasing it for a while in Mike’s, Page takes us into the lovely little alternative to Acoustic Army. Unlike it’s twin, it made an appearance after 1.0, in the 2015 Dick’s thank you encore [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Suspicious Minds:[/b] Henrietta, aka John Sullen Melancholy, makes an appearance to give us some catchy Elvis [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Carolina:[/b] appropriate, crowd is happy of course [b]A Day In The Life:[/b] some Beatles to close out this all timer of a set [b]Good Times Bad Times[/b]: great closing to a great show Wow. Right in the middle (2/3, whatever) of the final mega cross country Phish tour, this masterpiece of a show takes place. First set is regular 1995 goods, but this second set is just incredible. Exploration, segues, Henrietta, covers, this set has everything, and everything is executed perfectly. The end of the Mike’s jam alone is enough to make me give this a 10/10. I do. Highlights are Divided Sky, MFMF, and the entire second set
, attached to 2019-07-05

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Free:[/b] solid opener [b]Blaze On: [/b]normal type 1 peak version [b]555:[/b] standard [b]Tube: [/b]great extended jam in this one. Mike is fantastic. Bliss peak [b]Brian And Robert:[/b] standard [b]Halfway To The Moon:[/b] Page’s turn [b]Ocelot:[/b] standard [b]Rift[/b]: played well [b]Everything’s Right:[/b] first type 2 jam of the show. They find a nice place and build it to a great peak and that leads us to [b]Runaway Jim:[/b] unusual set closing placement, but a good one [b]Sand:[/b] to start the set, this jam stays type 1 and peaks back into the song, rather than getting out into exploration [b]Axilla:[/b] standard [b]Mercury:[/b] fantastic type 2 improvisation here. Red queen Trey solo is 10/10. Gets spacey and contains Mike bombing and drilling [b]Wading In The Velvet Sea: [/b]gorgeous solo from Red. I love love love this song, hate me all you want [b]Fuego:[/b] love this placement, and we get more type 2 greatness. Cowbell [b]Say It To Me SANTOS:[/b] I think this song is great as a closer, but not here. Should’ve waited. Really good version though [b]Character Zero:[/b] closing ragyness with extra Mike goods [b]Bug:[/b] standard [b]The Squirming Coil[/b]: love ya Page Interesting show from Fenway. The jamming in Mercury and Fuego is awesome, but some of the song choices and placements are a little iffy. This is a 6/10 show. Highlights are Tube, Everything’s Right, Mercury, Wading, and Fuego
, attached to 2004-06-18

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]AC/DC Bag:[/b] good opener [b]Camel Walk:[/b] played well [b]Crowd Control:[/b] standard [b]Stash:[/b] awesome version that stays type 1 [b]Cars Trucks Buses[/b]: standard [b]Carini:[/b] interesting placement, breaks away for a few minutes, but returns to the main riff to finish [b]My Sweet One:[/b] standard [b]Character Zero:[/b] standard rager [b]Tweezer:[/b] very odd position, this combo is a glimpse of 6/7/2009 in the future. This one stays in familiar territory and focuses more on a set ending peak (which is fantastic) than exploration. Good stuff [b]Wilson:[/b] pretty normal [b]Down With Disease:[/b] likely due to the antics that would follow, this version stays type 1 and is cut short. Kind of disappointing but still a fun high energy moment [b]99 Problems:[/b] the ultimate Phish musical guest makes his appearance. Crowd loves it [b]Big Pimpin:[/b] one more. Also this should’ve been first set but whatever [b]Chalk Dust Torture[/b]: back to our regularly scheduled projamming, we get the first type 2 journey of the night. It grows quiet and spacey and goes from there. Really wonderful and creative [b]Harry Hood:[/b] strangely exploratory and unfinished type 2 version [b]Taste:[/b] awesome peaking set closer. Another short set though [b]Bug:[/b] audible “awww” from the crowd lol [b]Tweezer Reprise:[/b] standard This is not a bad show at all, it just needed more length. Amazing jamming in CDT and Harry, and good playing with minimal flubs. Big improvement on Vegas, the crowd was very enthusiastic. This is a 6/10 with points off for short length and bad Jay Z placement. Highlights are Tweezer, Chalk Dust, and Hood
, attached to 2000-07-10

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, MONDAY 07/10/2000 DEER CREEK MUSIC CENTER Noblesville, IN Soundcheck: Ginseng Sullivan > My Soul, You Better Believe It Baby SET 1: Cars Trucks Buses: Standard. > Wilson: Standard. > It's Ice: The jam has a jazzy interlude thanks to Fish. > Bathtub Gin: Another Summer 00 Gin that they take for a ride. High energy version that never slows down. Would recommend. Buffalo Bill: Standard. My Mind's Got a Mind of its Own: Split Open and Melt: The body of work is fairly benign but everything that would typically be associated with the ending is hot and inspired. Sparkle: Standard. > Funky Bitch: Standard. David Bowie: Standard. SET 2: Gotta Jibboo: Standard. > Sand: Trey on mini keyboard for minutes at a time. Cerebral version. Would be fun to relisten to this one given the right headspace. But many would consider this a boring version. Twist: Standard. Fee: Nice little jam tacked on to this one. > What's the Use? Big and bold. I definitely had a moment during this at the show, was in awe of Trey. > Limb By Limb: Strong, compact version. > Loving Cup: Standard. ENCORE: Run Like an Antelope: Odd to play this at back to back shows. Standard version here. Summary: Had a ton of fun, I mean it’s Phish at Deer Creek. But this show fell flat like Alpine. Would rate this as a 3.5/5, 3.896/5 (>50 ratings) seems awfully generous. Replay Value: Bathtub Gin Trey teased San-Ho-Zay in Twist and Stash in Antelope. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 3.896/5 (>50 ratings) TEASES Stash tease in Run Like an Antelope, San-Ho-Zay tease in Twist
, attached to 2000-07-08

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, SATURDAY 07/08/2000 ALPINE VALLEY MUSIC THEATRE East Troy, WI SET 1: Punch You in the Eye: Standard. > NICU: Standard. > My Soul: Standard. Poor Heart: Standard. Wolfman's Brother: Should have kept jamming this, it was set to take off. First Tube: Good placement. Llama: Good stuff, energy remains very high. Guyute: Standard. Run Like an Antelope: Very solid! Love all the wah towards the end. Was all wooked out for this show, kept getting kicked out of the strip of grass at the side of the pavilion – was a beautiful place to dance, lol. SET 2: Heavy Things: Trey is seriously picking and grinning on this one, hot version. > Piper: It’s a crying shame they cut this short. It had legs but they cut them off. -> Rock and Roll: Standard. Tweezer: Very short. -> Walk Away: Standard. Twist: Standard. The Horse > Silent in the Morning: Standard. Possum: Standard ENCORE: Suzy Greenberg[1] – This one has some extra, funky mustard. > Tweezer Reprise: Standard. Summary: I had an absolute blast at this one. Good seats, company, etc. But this is one of the most vanilla shows I have ever seen. Was surprised when they released it for Live Phish. What an odd selection. The current rating of 4.087/5 (>50 ratings) is laughable. I would give it a 3/5. Replay Value: Honestly? None. Piper was fun but I would never purposely seek it out again. [1] The band skipped the second verse. Antelope included Yakety Sax and Jibboo teases. The band skipped the second verse of Suzy. This show was officially released as Live Phish 05. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.087/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Piper, Tweezer TEASES Yakety Sax and Gotta Jibboo teases in Run Like an Antelope
, attached to 2010-08-15

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Tweezer:[/b] starting the show off right. The jam stays type 1 but the build and peak is really great. The exploration this lacked would come later on [b]AC/DC Bag: [/b]very nice [b]On Your Way Down: [/b]they should bring this back. Good song [b]Divided Sky:[/b] flawless, amazing [b]Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan:[/b] standard. High energy set so far [b]Water In The Sky: [/b]standard [b]The Moma Dance:[/b] funky dance party time. Well played and placed [b]Farmhouse:[/b] bringing the energy down in a beautiful way [b]David Bowie:[/b] great Trey+Page interplay during the jam, which is the typical set closing peaky greatness. Solid set but it’s time for some exploring [b]Ghost:[/b] the second set starts with one of the most reliable Phish jam vehicles, and this version has one of the best Ghost peaks ever. The crowd shows their appreciation, then they break free into a short type 2 section that quickly transitions to [b]Theme From The Bottom:[/b] solid performance, with some strange (in a good way) soloing from Trey [b]Big Black Furry Creature From Mars:[/b] a fun break from the normal second set stuff [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] earlier placement than usual, but really nice performance. Also I live for bass+drums [b]Piper:[/b] finally an extended type 2 jam. Gives late 1990s vibes for a bit. Grows spacey after a while and Fish starts up the perfect song for this situation, which of course is [b]2001:[/b] standard second set dance party [b]While My Guitar Gently Weeps:[/b] 49 show gap. Crowd loves it and sings along. Trey kills it per usual [b]Character Zero:[/b] super high energy set 2 closer [b]Oh Sweet Nuthin:[/b] I am not a fan of this song. Don’t hate it but would rather have something (anything) else [b]Cavern:[/b] standard [b]Joy:[/b] standard [b]Tweezer Reprise:[/b] that’s all pholks This one is a rager. High energy basically the whole time with some fun treats mixed in.. We get type 2 at the end of Ghost and Piper, but nothing great to speak of in that regard. Highlights are Tweezer, Bowie, Ghost, YEM, and Piper. This is a 5.5/10 show due to the lack of exploration, which isn’t surprising since it’s 2010. But you know what they say, if it's not Vegas N1 2004 it's always an awesome experience
, attached to 2022-07-16

Review by ocelot22

ocelot22 My first review. What a moment. Attendance bias is real here, but a relisten made me want to share my feelings about this show. The weather was unreal and the venue was buzzing. The Eagle that flew over the river pre-show made an appearance for the Free opener which was super cool. But I will be clear to state that Set 1 really doesn’t have any standouts. A well played Reba is always welcomed and I do like the flow of song choice but it’s not anything to truly write home about. Set 2 is a different story. A couple of flubbed lines in Ocelot must have eaten at Trey because he came out looking for blood. Sigma Oasis was a good version, but DWD is an absolute gator tail. Its length is not why it’s so highly regarded by me. It’s the fact that each time you believe it’s ending, someone picks up the slack and won’t let it be. Fishman is the standout here and they even finish the song! In the moment it was excellent and it holds up against the sands of time. A true must listen. They flow perfectly into WTU and then they play an excellent Fluff. Twist leads back into Sigma and brings home a banger of a five song second set. I also think this is the last time Roses was played which is both interesting and makes me wonder if a comeback is due. Trey goes guitar god for First Tube and everyone goes home happy. Maine is the way life should be. I’m proud to call it home and love how much history the band has here. Please come back soon!
, attached to 1991-02-28

Review by thelot

thelot Decent enough audience recording for this show. The levels run hot and the sound is a bit tinny, but overall enjoyable given the intimate setting. The master recording is from a Dat source. The digi-farts during Landlady confirm this. Hopefully the Dat Master finds it’s way into circulation!The circulating source sounds like a Cass/1 to my ears. Things open with an electrifying Landlady. Well played Foam. Trey takes the crowd to a carnival on the outskirts of Gamehendge for Esther. I remember him doing a similar rap a few other times before Esther in ‘89/‘90. Pretty straightforward mid set Mike’s Groove. The intro to Cavern is slightly extended. A few sour notes during TMWSIY but well played overall. There’s a harsh cut during Mike’s solo in Avenu. The end of Golgi cuts out. Apparently the power went out. It sounds like some people split after the power cut out because Set 2 is far more intimate. Set 2 starts off with the band shushing the crowd down to absolute silence. The audience of maybe 30ish get completely silent before Trey starts up Coil. A nice Buried Alive segues out of Pages solo. Solid Reba. During Llama I couldn’t help but think how lucky this small group of folks were to be seeing a band of this caliber in such an intimate setting! Unfortunately there’s a cut at the start of the jam in Sky. This version of Love You features not only Fish introducing the band but the entire crew of four as well. He starts with Andrew Fischbeck as he forgot to mention him the other night in Salem, VA. More shushing follows HYHU. lol Trey raps about Gamehendge some more before transitioning into Lizards. The audience claps off-beat to the “If I were a dog” section of Lizards. Before the encore Trey thanks the audience and says he hasn’t played to a crowd this attentive in at least 5 years! The band shushes the audience once again. lol. Trey says “you guys are gonna get your chance to join in at the end of this one” before launching into a rare YEM encore! Enjoyable version with another inspired VJ. “Shut up! Shhh! Fun show! :)
, attached to 2009-06-18

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Golgi Apparatus:[/b] unusual opener choice, don’t mind it at all. Played perfectly [b]Chalk Dust Torture:[/b] high energy longer type 1 version [b]Bouncing Around The Room:[/b] standard [b]Wolfman’s Brother:[/b] jam starts with a funky breakdown and continues with the usual early 3.0 buildup. Nothing too special or exploratory but a nice first set groove [b]Divided Sky:[/b] flawless compositions and soaring Trey. Really solid [b]Heavy Things:[/b] standard [b]Walk Away:[/b] 80 show gap [b]Wilson:[/b] slightly extended middle segment, other than that pretty normal [b]Tube:[/b] longest 3.0 rendition until 2016, awesome funk to start but they start to break away from the Tube theme a bit, then quickly get it back, play around with some effects and finish the song. Page clav heaven [b]Alaska:[/b] standard [b]David Bowie:[/b] some troubles in the composed sections, which actually leads straight into the jam. Typical type 1 build and peak Bowie to end the first set [b]Down With Disease:[/b] first type 2 excursion to start the second set. Starts with the normal pre breakaway soloing and when they do Page switches to some spacey synths and piano. Trey uses an effect heard regularly in the late 90s and the jam is rolling along with Fish throwing in some cowbell. After a few minutes Trey starts [b]Free:[/b] standard [b]Guyute:[/b] played well [b]Piper:[/b] more type 2 jamming here. Once they break from the Piper theme, a buildup begins that leads to a nice peak but it's over quickly and they move on to a quieter groove with Trey whale calls and as they quiet down even more they find a transition into [b]When The Circus Comes:[/b] standard [b]Harry Hood:[/b] great buildup and an extended outro. You can feel good about this hood [b]The Squirming Coil:[/b] gorgeous Page solo [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] sick bass+drums [b]Grind:[/b] 65,442 [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Bike:[/b] 95 show gap [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] Fish's laughing at the end is ridiculous [b]Loving Cup:[/b] raging closer Solid show for early 2009. Some fun tunes, decent jamming in DWD and Piper, and the encore is hilarious. This is a 5.5/10 for me
, attached to 2019-07-03

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Fluffhead:[/b] always a great opener. This version has an unusual intro jam and the composed sections are played well with only a couple little mishaps here and there. Trey’s solo at the end is great and a little longer than most [b]Guyute:[/b] another long composed song to follow Fluff. The funky part is botched by Trey and Fish but other than that a standard performance [b]Martian Monster:[/b] fun little tune to continue the set [b]Llama:[/b] fast version. Standard [b]Steam:[/b] nice type 1 jam with a heady peak [b]Poor Heart:[/b] 55 show gap. Standard as always but a good treat [b]Crazy Sometimes:[/b] Mike gets another one. Love this song. Standard version [b]The Horse:[/b] Page piano lead instead of Trey guitar [b]Silent In The Morning:[/b] standard [b]Sleep:[/b] 289 show bustout, standard rendition [b]Drift While You’re Sleeping:[/b] Perfect song to follow the previous one and a great set closer [b]No Men In No Man’s Land:[/b] this second set starts with the first type 2 performance of the show. The jam starts with a chill spacey groove with some good Mike action along the way. Trey then turns on the staccato effect and plays around with it for a short time but this would soon give way to a bliss buildup that lasts about two minutes, but dies down with Trey using the watery effect and they dive into a deep mellow space, using various effects with Fish keeping a rhythm in the background. This progresses into a more upbeat jam that quickly gives way to [b]Dirt:[/b] standard [b]Plasma:[/b] starts with the return of the staccato effect from Trey, as they immediately launch into exploratory type 2 territory. Another soft mellow jam emerges which soon segues into [b]We Are Come To Outlive Our Brains:[/b] right as the singing ends, Trey turns on an effect and within seconds finds a segue right back to [b]Plasma:[/b] the exploration continues but Trey quickly finds a way into [b]Tweezer Reprise:[/b] short sandwiched version [b]The Wedge:[/b] standard [b]Sneakin Sally Through The Alley:[/b] this song never misses in the second set. This short but enjoyable type 2 jam contains a funky Mike heavy groove, and they stick with this theme for a few minutes then Trey finds [b]Run Like An Antelope:[/b] the jam starts off quieter and more experimental than usual but stays type 1 and builds to the usual peak. Great performance [b]More:[/b] standard. Wish they waited for it to be the actual closer, it should always be there [b]Slave To The Traffic Light:[/b] standard closing version. Beautiful as always [b]Rock And Roll:[/b] as much as I wish they still took this song out on type 2 journeys, I prefer the encore spot to none at all. This is a rager and is a great ending to a very fun show Nothing too exciting but as I said, a very fun show. The jamming here is more about segues than length which in this case, is just as good. First set contains some deep cuts, a big bustout, and interesting song choice, so both sets have something unique to offer. This is a 6.5/10 show for me
, attached to 2023-08-31

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Carini:[/b] for Frenchie. Love it. Big ol’ jam to start off the Dicks run, nothing unfamiliar here, but they work their way through for a long while and find a segue back into the song to end it off. Great way to begin the show [b]Halley’s Comet:[/b] standard [b]Blaze On:[/b] standard mid first set version [b]Prince Caspian:[/b] These mid to late first set placements have been spectacular since Pittsburgh 2017 and here’s another example. Nothing crazy but the jam gets out there for the last few minutes. Then it fades out and Trey starts up [b]We Are Come To Outlive Our Brains:[/b] 109 show bustout. Love the vibe of this song and glad they brought it back. Short version but after the songs played before there’s nothing wrong with it [b]Mercury:[/b] one of my faves from the 3.0 era. Composed parts are done perfectly and the Trey solo in the Red Queen part is very nice. They start to jam it out but after a short time Trey takes us into [b]Ruby Waves:[/b] another big exploratory jam in this first set. TBH I kinda zoned out a little during this, (not because of the song) but an enjoyable performance from what I remember. Trey as he always does now, takes us back into the chorus to end it off [b]Character Zero:[/b] rager to end the first set. Brief and not standout but high energy and fun as always [b]Set Your Soul Free:[/b] brief rendition to start the second set. No exploration due to Trey wanting to just get on to the next song, which had a fantastic year in 2023 so here we go… [b]Tweezer:[/b] 23 minute beast. Starts off with a few minutes of familiar playing then branches off with a blissy jam for a while. After that it grows a bit evil with Page moving to different synths and they lock into a solid groove. We then move onto a more psychedelic realm, containing Norwegian Wood-esque licks from Trey as they build to a glorious peak, but we’re not done yet. The peak settles down into a new spooky place with Trey utilizing the demon robot pedal and some Mike action. A little bit later they find a great groove which after only 30 seconds finds its way back into the Tweezer riff but they’re STILL not done. Page finds a nice sound and Fish is laying down a sick beat. After a minute or two of this Trey finds his way into [b]Beneath A Sea Of Stars Part 1:[/b] bringing the energy down for a bit after that outstanding Tweezer jam. Beautiful mid set cool off and it leads into a neat little buildup jam for a while then they finish it out [b]Oblivion:[/b] The great new jam vehicle of 2023. Once it gets past the barrier of Oblivionness, Trey switches the key and starts fumbling around a bit, but before we get anywhere interesting Trey leads a strange segue into [b]Light:[/b] I don’t mind this song but wish they had kept going with Oblivion. But let's see where this goes. After the main part concludes the jam starts by quieting down a little and it starts to remind me somewhat of early 3.0. Then continuing on with a Your Pet Cat tease and Fishman finding a nice rhythm involving some cowbell and they play around with that for a bit. Fishman is the MVP of the jam at this point as he goes through different enjoyable patterns. Trey starts building a peak which ends up breaking free again into a short moment of funky delay effects which segues into [b]Slave To The Traffic Light:[/b] standard ragey second set closer [b]Show Of Life:[/b] standard [b]Say It To Me SANTOS:[/b] always a great high energy closing song. Give me this over Cavern or Suzy any day of the week (sorry not sorry) Awesome way to start the Dicks 2023 run. You could argue this show was just 2 second sets. Highlights are Carini, Ruby Waves, Tweezer, and Light. For me this is a 8/10 show
, attached to 1996-12-30

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Ya Mar:[/b] good start, Mike antics [b]The Sloth:[/b] couple mishaps by Trey but solid otherwise [b]Llama:[/b] nice solos by both Page and Trey [b]Gumbo:[/b] not fully jammed quite yet but enjoyable middle section before Page's ending solo [b]Reba:[/b] with a fast tempo they get through the composed sections pretty much flawlessly, and the jam is gorgeous as always. Great stuff. No whistling [b]Talk:[/b] Trey on acoustic guitar [b]Funky Bitch:[/b] the PA cutting out is funny and crowd is patient as they fix it, and when they do the raging continues [b]Theme From The Bottom:[/b] standard [b]Good Times Bad Times:[/b] fun way to end the first set, solid performance [b]Timber: [/b] straightforward to start off the second set. Fun but not too exploratory [b]Uncle Pen:[/b] standard [b]AC/DC Bag:[/b] jammed with a little exploration but mostly type 1 [b]Guyute:[/b] standard, no notable flubs [b]Tweezer:[/b] stays in familiar territory for a while with a tremendous buildup then gets type 2 for the last couple minutes. Highlight of the night for me then segues nicely for the last time into [b]Lifeboy:[/b] standard [b]Scent Of A Mule:[/b] another great highlight here. Pages part of the jam is awesome, then Mike takes over with a cool bass jam + vocals then they finish it off. One of my favorite versions of this song [b]Slave To The Traffic Light:[/b] fantastic way to end the set. Nothing out of the ordinary but you can't ever go wrong with this [b]Possum:[/b] longer than usual version to end the show. Energy is high and the band and crowd are ready for New Years Eve the next night This is a solid show after a great run in Philly. Probably the least notable night of the 1996 NYE run but not bad at all. Only significant exploration is in Tweezer and SOAMule but every version of the songs played are either standard or very good. No disappointments unless you don't like the switch-up to acoustic for Talk. For me this is a 6.5/10 show
, attached to 2000-07-07

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, FRIDAY 07/07/2000 STAR LAKE AMPHITHEATRE Burgettstown, PA SET 1: Chalk Dust Torture: Standard. Gumbo: Straight ahead groove monster. Fun, but would not assign replay value to this version. It is a jamcharts version though. Divided Sky: Gets strange in the late 11’s and early 12’s – it almost feels like Fish is trying for Dave’s Energy Guide or something. Bunch of Trey reverse reverb in the mid 13’s – this goes on for over a full minute. Interesting take on Divided Sky I guess, it certainly is unique. Would recommend as such. Boogie On Reggae Woman: Standard. > Funky Bitch: Has a little extra mustard but not enough to warrant it being good enough for jamcharts (which it is listed on JC which is lol) Maze: -> Shafty -> Maze: Unique pairing. They don’t funk out Shafty, they keep it in the same time/tempo (I guess?) as Maze. Would recommend. Back on the Train: Standard. The Curtain: Cool placement for the era. Intro is sloppy. > Character Zero: Standard. SET 2: Ghost: This one an upbeat pace while remaining on the relatively sinister side of the street. Trey takes an equal role as the rest of his mates in this one as he is mostly content stay out of the way. Unfortunately, no one really steps up and takes leadership of this jam. Therefore, even though it has an attractive time stamp – this one just does not hold my attention and certainly not for replay value unfortunately. It is a jamcharts version for what it is worth. Segue into Jibboo is pretty meh -> Gotta Jibboo: Standard. Split Open and Melt: Very solid offering right here. Not good enough that I would assign it replay value worthy but would not kick it out of bed for eating crackers either. Roggae: Standard. > Mike's Song: Standard. > Simple: Standard. > Weekapaug Groove: Standard. ENCORE: Frankenstein: Standard. Summary: Show is definitely a paper tiger. Looks plenty sexy but push play and find out. This show is every bit as meh as Toronto and deserves the same 3.5/5 score. LOL at .net scoring this as a 3.941/5 (>50 ratings). You can almost hear how bored and burnt out the band is by listening to this one. Replay Value: Divided Sky, Maze, Shafty, Maze Shafty was played for the first time since July 2, 1998 (150 shows). SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 3.941/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Gumbo, Divided Sky, Funky Bitch, Maze, Shafty, Maze, Ghost
, attached to 2000-07-06

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, THURSDAY 07/06/2000 MOLSON AMPHITHEATRE Toronto, Ontario, Canada Soundcheck: Dog Log, I Wish I Was In Guelph, Jam SET 1: Reba: I believe this has only opened a show 12 times and hadn’t been done since 92 and only once after this show at 6.19.04 – so super rare considering how many times Reba has been played. This one is typical but at 12:30 Trey starts up a minor chord groove and when Fish follows suit the band is uniform in this novel approach to Reba. This doesn’t last for very long but does add a certain nuance to this version. Crazy long version that is essentially peak less. The body of work is consistent and well jammed and the unique placement, this one is worth of replay value – would recommend. Dogs Stole Things: Standard. > Taste: Standard. Dog Faced Boy: Standard. Heavy Things: Standard. > The Moma Dance: Rocks out pretty hard. First Tube: Standard. I Didn't Know: Standard. The Inlaw Josie Wales: Standard. Prince Caspian: Standard. > Golgi Apparatus: Standard. You Enjoy Myself: Jamcharts version but not sure why. Just your standard late 1.0 groove monster. SET 2: Limb By Limb[1] - Kind of the anti LxL. No big peaks and it almost goes Type II. Has a sinister, dark vibe in the last few minutes. Would recommend. Cool segue into 2001 too. > Also Sprach Zarathustra: Dance party USA. > Bug: Standard. > Piper: Super boring and uninspired. Trey basically doesn’t play his guitar for many minutes on end. There are great moments in late 1.0. But it’s stuff like this that really peppered the last two or three years that turned many folks off. > Driver: Best ever, lol?! Mike gets to jam on this one. Harry Hood[2] - Brief, fun vocal jam in the intro. Lots of trilling by Trey in the end that leads right into the vocal refrain. Sounds kind of cool but upon closer inspection and thoughtful introspection, this is a lazy way to peak Hood. It’s like I guess this is one way to ‘peak’ Hood without really putting in the work. Hope that makes sense. Loving Cup: Standard. So, Trey – do you like Toronto? LOL – listen to him ramble at the end of this one. ENCORE: The Squirming Coil: Standard. Summary: A bland, uninspired show. Just because it is the longest show of the tour doesn’t necessarily mean it is a quality show. It’s almost bereft of highlights. Current rating is 3.857/5 (>50 ratings) on .net. That is way to high. I would give it a 3.5/5 and even that seems a tad strong. Replay Value: Reba, Limb by Limb [1] Unfinished. [2] Small vocal jam during the intro. For his vacuum solo in I Didn’t Know, Trey introduced Fish as “Mr. Ralph Blowenstein.” Limb By Limb was unfinished. Trey made several comments during the show regarding his affinity for the venue. Mike teased Maze in Piper. Hood included a small vocal jam during the intro. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 3.857/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Reba, The Moma Dance, You Enjoy Myself, Limb By Limb, Also Sprach Zarathustra, Piper TEASES Maze tease in Piper
, attached to 2000-07-04

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, TUESDAY 07/04/2000 E CENTRE Camden, NJ SET 1: The Star Spangled Banner: What better way to start this show? USA! USA! USA! Farmhouse: Standard. Rift: Trey is sloppy > It's Ice: Sloppy in the lyrics!!! Sick interlude though with the crunchy SSB stuff – it’s trippy!!! > Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. Stash: Pretty good Stash right here. Solid offering in the middle of the set, nicely done. The Lizards: Trey’s solo rips! The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday > Avenu Malkenu > The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday: Standard. > Julius: Standard. SET 2: Gotta Jibboo: This one holds on to the Type I structure like grim death. It really doesn’t get beyond the OG until about 15 and a half and once there it is an expansive, spacy space. But, by the 16 minute mark Fish has created some bouncy energy on the wood blocks and the audience starts up a clapping thing that follows the rhythm. In the late 16’s Mike is hitting lines that indicates his interest in playing Saw it Again, good foreshadowing there. By the 20 minute mark a theme is being explored thanks mostly to a catchy segment that Mike continues to repeat that Trey picks up on and runs with it. By the 25 minute mark we are approaching hose territory. But instead of that, Trey goes to full on shredding. Huge arena rock follows with him going bananas. Impressive, tones of reverse reverb in this section. Best Jibboo of all time (I know, I know 2.20.03, but this one has more to offer when it is all said and done). Easy all timer and highly recommended. -> Saw It Again: Standard. Cool segue! -> Magilla: Standard. At 1:25 you can somebody ask, “Are you wigging out?” lol!!! Second to last version played and last version of 1.0. > Twist: Consistent and dark would be the best way I could describe this one. From an early onset it is fair to say they had one thing in mind with this one – to intimidate and create an evil vibe. They surely achieved both goals. This develops into a fantastic jam. It almost feels like this could be the background to a death march. Released on Live Bait Vol. 4.Easy all timer and highly recommended. > Slave to the Traffic Light: Brilliant version. Exceptionally well done with many gratifying peaks – one of my favorites. Easy all timer and highly recommended. ENCORE: Lawn Boy[1] - Standard. Good Times Bad Times: Check out the on stage pyrotechnics synced up with the drum intro of GTBT @ 55:00 - https://youtu.be/uvBBntLMqAs Summary: Set one is entertaining but not much to grab on to there as far as replay value is concerned. But plenty of old school selections abound. But watch out for the second set, what a monster. Three major highlights. For me, this show is easy to rate, and the current rating is right on the money at 4.556/5. Replay Value: Gotta Jibboo, Saw It Again, Magilla, Twist, Slave to the Traffic Light [1] Fireworks display on stage and in the pavilion, as well as well wishes from Page; the fireworks signaled the beginning of GTBT. It’s Ice included a Star Spangled Banner tease. Lawn Boy included a fireworks display on stage and in the pavilion, as well as well wishes from Page; the fireworks signaled the beginning of GTBT. Mike teased Heartbreaker near the end of GTBT. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.556/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Gotta Jibboo, Saw It Again, Magilla, Twist, Slave to the Traffic Light TEASES The Star Spangled Banner tease in It's Ice, Heartbreaker tease in Good Times Bad Times
, attached to 1990-10-07

Review by kipmat

kipmat [url]https://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1378244863[/url] "Ten years ago, the last thing I wanted was a home base. I loved living completely on the hoof and found the idea of home limiting. Now I'm experiencing the opposite. Living my life that way was actually becoming more of an energy sink than an energy source. When I go on tour now, after recharging my battery at home, I have a lot more juice than I used to." - John Fishman, from The Phish Book, p. 119 Traveling can be tiring, whether for a show, a vacation, or to visit loved ones, but at least it's one trip; going on tour for 3-4 months at a time like Phish did in 1990 can be a disorienting experience that causes one to become emotionally and physically exhausted. As Fish mentions above, being able to enjoy the comforts of home can be a healing balm for much of that exhaustion. The band had been using family homes as temporary bases of operations for playing gigs for a few years at this point, and on this night Trey and Page were finally able to play a show in their home state of New Jersey. The recording is a clean AUD (despite some bad feedback during set 2) from a period where not that many AUDs survive. On Tom Marshall's Under The Scales podcast from 9/3/2017, @Big_Phil Muller talks about having taped this show and how it was a special show for the band, despite being performed for a minuscule audience. The setlist features a nice cross-section of the band's repertoire at this time, along with a couple of bang-bang song transitions like Buried Alive > BATR and Golgi > GTBT that were typical of this era. I also like this early Tweezer with snatches of "Will It Go 'Round In Circles" from Page and "Don't Get Me Wrong" from Trey, and a bonus travelogue from Trey during the last chorus of Contact. This is a goofy, casual, entertaining show, summed up by Trey's banter at the beginning of the recording: "How's everybody feeling tonight?"
, attached to 1991-02-22

Review by thelot

thelot Not a bad audience source for this second set considering it’s back story. Around 2006 I discovered this tape in my old bedroom closet at my childhood home on Cape Cod. I believe it once belonged to my younger brother (Chris), although he has no recollection of it. It definitely wasn’t from my collection. It was just a crappy old TDK 90, no jewel case and a label that read 2/22/91. The temperature in that closet probably reached close to 100 degrees throughout the summer, not to mention the humidity! It’s amazing this tape was salvageable at all! I reached out to Kevin Shapiro via MySpace and was told that it wasn’t in the archive! Hard to believe they weren’t recording every show at this point. I immediately got the tape off to Arty. If anyone could work magic on an old cassette tape it was him! Thank goodness he was able to salvage this one for all to enjoy! Big thanks to Arty for his tireless contribution to this community! Even though I helped get this tape into circulation this is the very first time I’ve listened to it! Set 2 opens with a fiery little Chalk Dust. DaaM transitions seamlessly into a solid YEM with an inspired B&D and VJ section. The vocal jam develops into the second-ever known Cheeseburger Rap similar to 6/1/90. “Chris got no memory” lol A nice spunky version of Magilla follows. This version of Suzy has first time commentary from Fish “Forgotten my name? What a bitch!” lol Dramatic HYHU intro with a Let’s Go tease. Fish pulls out his bone for this version of Terrapin complete with a cool Whole Lotta Love jam like the version during Love You on Fish’s birthday at The Bayou. HYHU is played as the outro music with Mike teasing Let’s Go. Mike continues to tease Let’s Go at the start of Antelope. Trey is En Fuego during this jam! The Marco section is pretty straightforward. Pretty good set overall.
, attached to 1993-05-07

Review by kipmat

kipmat [url]https://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1378236671[/url] One reason I enjoy returning to these old shows is to notice how my opinions toward the performances evolve over time. Overall, 5/7/93 seems like an average show for 1993, and it certainly pales in comparison to the other blazing hot shows of this month. But this show still makes for a nice tonic after one has listened to several late-nineties shows in a row. @DollarBill's review gives a good feel for this show (even if he got flamed for underrating the following night's tour closer). I found the first set to be more interesting than I remembered; Manteca is teased again after two appearances in the last three shows, there's a brief “hurry up” melody from Page on the organ before Trey's solo in Lizards, a typically shredding Divided Sky and some of the melodic interplay in the intro to Run Like An Antelope that would be everywhere come the following August. However, YEM is easily the highlight of this show, full of teases and adventurous jamming typical for this period. It's not mentioned in the show notes, but Andy Bernstein's write-up in the old Pharmer's Almanac mentions an inflatable pig being lowered from the rafters during a mind-bending Great Gig In The Sky performance by Fishman - apparently Marley sauntered out on stage before the encore to sniff it out, prompting a little banter from the band before Amazing Grace. Another blissful Harry Hood leads into a Harpua narration about the professional wrestler Ravishing Rick Rude (who apparently had just returned to the ring after suffering a neck injury the previous December, although I suspect Trey's reference had more to do with the Paul Bunyan statue outside of the venue). Andy Bernstein deemed 5/7/93 "a great show for non-Phish snobs" - 'nuff said! "I'm not afraid of dying. Really, I'm not. Why should I be afraid of dying? It's stupid! When we all have to go, we all have to go..."
, attached to 1991-02-21

Review by thelot

thelot The SBD source for this show really needs to be pitch corrected. The pitch is very slow. Overall this source is pretty flat and lifeless. A pretty straightforward Reba gets things started. DaaM>Ya Mar is well played. Solid Split Open but doesn’t hit the mark of the last two versions that preceded it. Decent Llama played for the Jolly Llama’s. A standard Mike’s Groove closes out set 1. The opening sequence from Golgi through Bouncin’ is pretty uneventful. Decent Stash. The true highlight of the set comes during the set closing Bowie. Solid Manteca infused version. Really the only noteworthy part of this entire performance.
, attached to 1997-12-28

Review by kipmat

kipmat [url]https://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1378228140[/url] It's difficult to comprehend a show from December 1997 being underrated, when just about every other show from that month has been celebrated. Phish did indeed Destroy America over the 21 shows between 11/13/97 and 12/13/97, but hindsight seems to have relegated this show to the shadows of the three huh-yuge MSG shows that followed. However, I feel that there's still a lot to be appreciated here, and judging by the other show reviews on this page, it seems I'm not alone in that opinion. The main complaint, it seems to me, is the randomness of the setlist. The combination of Cities > The Curtain is a caution to expect the unexpected. The abundance of Hoist-era material might be another gripe, but it's not all by-the-numbers; the Axilla II "Don't shine that light in my face, man" jam is appended to the Axilla second set opener, and Trey's riff in SOAMelt is another nod to the Hoist album. The sound issues that plague the jams in Simple and Drowned could be perceived as annoyances that bring this show rating down, but these can also be easily overlooked in lieu of the overall spaciness of the jamming throughout the second set (reminiscent of 5/7/94 set II). Only Runaway Jim was used in a Mystery Jam Monday contest, but the first seven tracks in this second set have moments that could fool an experienced listener.
, attached to 2000-07-03

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, MONDAY 07/03/2000 E CENTRE Camden, NJ SET 1: Down with Disease: Straight forward hell fire and finished. Fantastic way to open the show! Guelah Papyrus: Standard. My Mind's Got a Mind of its Own: Standard. Foam: Standard. Bathtub Gin[1] - Mind blowing that this is not a jamcharts version. The summer of Gin rolls on with another great version right here. This one stays in a straightforward pocket but shifts into the reverse reverb stuff around the 11 and a half mark or so. This one is not as good as Atlanta or Holmdel, but it’s still good and I would recommend it. My Soul: Standard. Heavy Things: Standard. Fluffhead: Super clutch placement as this set was getting a bit rote with the previous two selections. Standard version. When the Circus Comes: Standard. Run Like an Antelope[2] - Awesome placement and great way to end the set. SET 2: Runaway Jim: Intentions are clear here that they intend to take this one for a ride as early as the 8 minute range and Trey starts laying in big loops at the 9 minute mark. Up through the 15 minute mark, this one was fairly hairy. Lot’s going on to hold your intention but fairly intense. It mellows out for a good 5 minutes, lots of ambience in this section. They take there time to rebuild this one and they do just that as this one turns into a raging monster where Trey does his best impression of Hendrix. Total rager! This Jim reminds me some of the 8.11.98 version. However, this one is just more dynamic where as the 98 version has more of a meandering feel for more of it. This one is an easy all timer and highly recommended – this highlight and anchor of the show for sure! Glide[3] - Standard. Theme From the Bottom: Standard. > Sand: Standard. Has the Die effect they debuted at 9.29.99 in 2001 starting at 7:25. Trey develops a catchy little theme in the latter third of this jam. They stop it completely and then reprise it. Would recommend. Meat: Standard. > Chalk Dust Torture: Standard. Bittersweet Motel: Standard. ENCORE: Waste: Standard. Summary: One all timer and two good highlights in addition. To this point, this was the longest show of the tour clocking in at 2:58. Would rate this show a 4/5, which feels a touch strong… Replay Value: Bathtub Gin, Runaway Jim, Sand [1] A large storm provided thunder and lightning. [2] Tom Marshall on vocals. [3] All Fall Down signal. Trey’s children made an on-stage appearance in a golf cart during Disease. A large storm provided thunder and lightning during Gin; the song included Philadelphia Freedom teases. Runaway Jim contained a San-Ho-Zay tease from Trey and an I Can't Turn You Loose tease from Page. Glide included an All Fall Down signal. Fluffhead contained a Frère Jacques tease from Trey. Antelope featured Tom Marshall on vocals. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.131/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Runaway Jim, Theme From the Bottom, Sand TEASES Philadelphia Freedom tease in Bathtub Gin, San-Ho-Zay and I Can't Turn You Loose teases in Runaway Jim, Frère Jacques tease in Fluffhead
, attached to 2000-07-03

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, MONDAY 07/03/2000 E CENTRE Camden, NJ SET 1: Down with Disease: Straight forward hell fire and finished. Fantastic way to open the show! Guelah Papyrus: Standard. My Mind's Got a Mind of its Own: Standard. Foam: Standard. Bathtub Gin[1] - Mind blowing that this is not a jamcharts version. The summer of Gin rolls on with another great version right here. This one stays in a straightforward pocket but shifts into the reverse reverb stuff around the 11 and a half mark or so. This one is not as good as Atlanta or Holmdel, but it’s still good and I would recommend it. My Soul: Standard. Heavy Things: Standard. Fluffhead: Super clutch placement as this set was getting a bit rote with the previous two selections. Standard version. When the Circus Comes: Standard. Run Like an Antelope[2] - Awesome placement and great way to end the set. SET 2: Runaway Jim: Intentions are clear here that they intend to take this one for a ride as early as the 8 minute range and Trey starts laying in big loops at the 9 minute mark. Up through the 15 minute mark, this one was fairly hairy. Lot’s going on to hold your intention but fairly intense. It mellows out for a good 5 minutes, lots of ambience in this section. They take there time to rebuild this one and they do just that as this one turns into a raging monster where Trey does his best impression of Hendrix. Total rager! This Jim reminds me some of the 8.11.98 version. However, this one is just more dynamic where as the 98 version has more of a meandering feel for more of it. This one is an easy all timer and highly recommended – this highlight and anchor of the show for sure! Glide[3] - Standard. Theme From the Bottom: Standard. > Sand: Standard. Has the Die effect they debuted at 9.29.99 in 2001 starting at 7:25. Trey develops a catchy little theme in the latter third of this jam. They stop it completely and then reprise it. Would recommend. Meat: Standard. > Chalk Dust Torture: Standard. Bittersweet Motel: Standard. ENCORE: Waste: Standard. Summary: One all timer and two good highlights in addition. To this point, this was the longest show of the tour clocking in at 2:58. Would rate this show a 4/5, which feels a touch strong… Replay Value: Bathtub Gin, Runaway Jim, Sand [1] A large storm provided thunder and lightning. [2] Tom Marshall on vocals. [3] All Fall Down signal. Trey’s children made an on-stage appearance in a golf cart during Disease. A large storm provided thunder and lightning during Gin; the song included Philadelphia Freedom teases. Runaway Jim contained a San-Ho-Zay tease from Trey and an I Can't Turn You Loose tease from Page. Glide included an All Fall Down signal. Fluffhead contained a Frère Jacques tease from Trey. Antelope featured Tom Marshall on vocals. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.131/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Runaway Jim, Theme From the Bottom, Sand TEASES Philadelphia Freedom tease in Bathtub Gin, San-Ho-Zay and I Can't Turn You Loose teases in Runaway Jim, Frère Jacques tease in Fluffhead
, attached to 2000-07-01

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, SATURDAY 07/01/2000 MEADOWS MUSIC THEATRE Hartford, CT SET 1: Buried Alive: Standard. Wolfman's Brother: Standard. > Axilla: Standard. > Poor Heart: Standard. > Sample in a Jar: Standard. Tube: Standard. Beauty of My Dreams: Standard. Roggae: Standard. Vultures: This version starts with a seemingly straightforward, yet fervent energy gradually intensifies, reaching a crescendo that resonates with fans, as evidenced by the enthusiastic reaction around the 8:08 mark. Trey's skillful trills and powerful delivery drive the rendition to an exhilarating peak. This climactic moment then transitions seamlessly into a section of cool riffing, with Mike and Fish establishing a tight rhythm that propels a playful musical run. Trey enhances his guitar tone, adding layers of depth to the sound. Would recommend! Dirt: Standard. Split Open and Melt: Standard. SET 2: Gotta Jibboo[1] Standard. Bug: Standard. > First Tube: Standard. > Mike's Song: Standard. -> Swept Away > Steep: Standard. -> I Am Hydrogen: Standard. > Weekapaug Groove[2] Standard. -> Nellie Kane: Standard. Ghost: Fairly typical Ghost but once it gets through it’s normal progressions this one highlights those signature 2000 sounds and then they ramp this one up into light speed for an intense jam to close out the second set. Strong version and would recommend. ENCORE: While My Guitar Gently Weeps: Standard. Summary: Looks good on paper, but it’s a bit of a paper tiger. Two highlights yikes and on a Saturday night in Hartford? To me, it’s shows like this in 2000 that showed that the band was growing stale and having challenges coming up with fresh ideas. Still, the setlist is strong enough that even with just two highlights that this show merits a 3.9/5 rating. Replay Value: Vultures, Ghost [1] Additional lyrics that referenced Chris Kuroda and Brad Sands. [2] Unfinished. Jibboo included additional lyrics that referenced Chris Kuroda and Brad Sands. Weekapaug was unfinished and included a Dave's Energy Guide tease from Trey. Ghost contained a San-Ho-Zay tease from Trey. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.007/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Vultures, Ghost TEASES San-Ho-Zay tease in Ghost, Dave's Energy Guide tease in Weekapaug Groove
, attached to 1991-11-16

Review by kipmat

kipmat [url]http://https://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1378219560[/url] In the dawn of the file-sharing era on the internet, I spent some time tracking down mp3 files of Phish songs I had yet to hear. I ended up making a 90 minute mix tape of these obscure songs, including "Destiny Unbound", "Walfredo", "Prep School Hippie", "Glide II", and a version of "Brother" from 11/16/91 that shocked my brain. I recall being initially disturbed by all of the dissonant playing by Trey and Page, the intense vocal melody, the way Fishman alternated between the frantic main rhythm and the loose swing rhythm during the solos, and the crazy ending. The effect was even more disorienting when I got a copy of 4/4/98 II, which has a much looser version of Brother. How could one song be performed in such different styles? Where did that 11/16/91 version come from? Did they really think that was "music"? Years later, I was able to download the full show off the spreadsheet, and receive the full effect of this crazy second set. Bathtub Gin is even more off-the-rails than Brother, and this YEM jams as hard as they ever did back then. Phish had just shared the stage with Colonel Bruce Hampton and the Aquarium Rescue Unit one week earlier, and the importance of that band's influence on Phish cannot be overestimated. Combine that experience with some serious roadburn (this was their 38th show in 53 days), "Smells Like Teen Spirit"'s recent ascension into the national consciousness, and lots of special guests in attendance, and you get one of the wildest sets the band had played until that point. More fans need to hear this show, wouldn't you say, @midcoaster? ;)
, attached to 1993-07-29

Review by kipmat

kipmat [url]https://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1378210505[/url] "[1993 was] the year Phish could do no wrong... Phish was so creatively and musically compelling and they were taking crazy risks. Before 1993 it had seemed to be a very practiced, concise show that flowed real fast and didn't necessarily have any huge improvisational moments. All of a sudden there were huge improvisational moments everywhere. You'd get some of that in 1992 and throughout the early years, but in 1993 the growth was obvious." - Kevin Shapiro, Phish: The Biography, p. 113 The growth that Kevin Shapiro describes seems to refer primarily to August '93, a month so venerated that some may not be aware that the Summer 1993 tour began on July 15. The band's performances during July were tighter than they had ever been, and they were making the jump to playing outdoor amphitheaters with larger capacities, but some of the playing is marked with the ambivalence that the band has shown whenever they have found themselves playing to larger audiences then they have been accustomed to. The "homecoming" show in Stowe, VT on 7/22 is notably bogged down by rain, and the 7/27 Richmond > 7/28 Charlotte run at the end of the month appeared to be a swoon. It would take a venue down-sizing in Tampa on 8/2 for the band to fully break out of their rut, and once they brought back Slave To The Traffic Light at the Cincinnati Zoo on 8/6, Phish was airborne once again and reaching for the improvisational heavens. 7/29 may be missing the ground-breaking hey-hole jams or segue-fests that make the best of the August shows so compelling, but the seeds the band had planted can be seen sprouting from the ground before blooming a couple of weeks later. One interesting aspect of Summer 1993 is how the band started sneaking in teases from more random sources; on this night, the three-note riff from Midnight Oil's "Beds Are Burning" is not only teased in GTBT, but becomes the basis for a wicked jam in YEM. @SlavePhan's show review mentions other setlist oddities including Mike's yodeling in Funky Bitch, Trey's whispering at the beginning of Maze, and a rare segue out of Bouncing Around the Room instead of the familiar ending. We are also treated to another mind-melting Trey narration during Forbin's > Mockingbird, Trey's bizarre dedication during Daniel Saw The Stone, and what might have actually been a double encore. This show is easily overlooked because there's just so much music played during August '93 that demands to be heard first; but if you have heard all that and want some more, this show is a lot of fun to revisit.
, attached to 1991-02-20

Review by thelot

thelot Not the best source tape but it’s a decent enough audience recording for this first and partial second set. The recording levels run hot causing saturation. A nice Buried Alive>Cavern>Possum gets the party started. Demented little Tweezer! Afterwards, Trey says that was a late birthday gift to Fish because he really likes that song. Well played versions of Llama, YEM and Magilla follow. Foam cuts in during the jam to start the tape of set 2. Decent Sky. Unfortunately, the recording fades out during Guelah. The rest of the set is lost to history. I’m fascinated that the band weren’t archiving their performances by this point!
, attached to 2000-06-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, FRIDAY 06/30/2000 MEADOWS MUSIC THEATRE Hartford, CT SET 1: Ha Ha Ha: Standard. AC/DC Bag[1] - Strong jam, but nothing out of the ordinary other than the length. Definitely sets the tone for a great set. Would recommend. The last 45 seconds is Trey playing staccato, something that you might hear in a Fee jam… > Tweezer: This one is pretty tame. Mike opens the jam with some serious underwater funk. The jam doesn’t have much life other than from 10:30 to 11:30. Nice segue into Jim > Runaway Jim: Solid enough jam don’t let the time stamp fool you though, there are about two minutes of dead air. Like Tweezer, this jam is somewhat workmanlike in nature and nothing much grabbed my attention. Sneakin' Sally Through the Alley[2] - Standard > Ginseng Sullivan: Standard > Guyute: Standard Golgi Apparatus: Standard > Tweezer Reprise: Standard > Possum: Trey gets the jet fueled up and prepped for takeoff – seriously, check out how high he takes this jam and then launches it – sounds like a plane, would recommend. SET 2: Halley's Comet: Solid jam with good length. Basically, it’s one long groove monster. > The Mango Song: Such a chill jam. This one would be great to put on at the end of a long day or night to wind down. Gets into a very quiet, ambient space and then out of that segues into Twist. > Twist: Standard. The Inlaw Josie Wales: Standard. Back on the Train: Standard. > Makisupa Policeman[3] Some interesting effects in this one. Farmhouse: Standard. > Sleeping Monkey: Standard. > David Bowie: Standard. ENCORE: Cavern: Tweezer and Moby Dick teases are fun, and the MD stuff is foreshadowing of what would go down at Deer Creek. Summary: Interestingly enough, I always loved this show. But upon this relisten, it has lost some of it’s luster. It’s just not that strong. I think it is a little better than average, I would give it a 3.75/5. Phish.net current rating is 4.25/5 (>50 ratings). Replay Value: Possum, Halley's Comet, The Mango Song [1] The ending of AC/DC Bag was unusual, as Trey repeated the closing guitar tweaks before breaking into the Tweezer riff. [2] No vocal jam. [3] The key phrase in Makisupa was "One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Big Fat Doob." The ending of AC/DC Bag was unusual, as Trey repeated the closing guitar tweaks before breaking into the Tweezer riff. Sneakin' Sally did not contain a vocal jam. The key phrase in Makisupa was a play on the blues classic One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer, with "Big Fat Doob" replacing "Beer." Cavern included Tweezer teases and a Moby Dick tease after Trey introduced Fish under that name. Runaway Jim included Nellie Kane teases. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.25/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Tweezer, Possum, Halley's Comet, The Mango Song TEASES Nellie Kane tease in Runaway Jim, Tweezer and Moby Dick teases in Cavern, Le Freak tease in Halley's Comet
, attached to 2000-06-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, THURSDAY 06/29/2000 PNC BANK ARTS CENTER Holmdel, NJ SET 1: Funky Bitch: Standard. > Wilson: Standard. Limb By Limb: Super groovy jam in the midst of this one, very cool and different for this tune. Enormous peak. As far as I am concerned this is an easy all timer and highly recommended. Drowned: Total groove monster. If you can’t get down with this one, well sir I don’t know what to tell you. This is a highlight for the tour and for the year in general. It is a great characterization of the sound that defined 2000. Incredible Drowned. Easy all timer and highly recommended. Amazing segue into Rock and Roll. -> Rock and Roll: Standard hell fire. SET 2: Birds of a Feather[1] - Around 10:45 Trey employs that same effect he uses in that epic 9.27.00. Outside of that little nugget, this version mostly bores me. Piper: Standard. -> Catapult: Standard. > Heavy Things: Standard. > Sand: Very boring. Meatstick[2] Banter is fun > Cities[3] - Standard, great segue into Walk Away -> Walk Away: Standard. > Run Like an Antelope: Standard. > Frankenstein: Standard. Wading in the Velvet Sea: Standard. ENCORE: Character Zero: Trey is a rock star. Summary: Like the night before, I am not as high as the rest of .net on this show as well. I am good giving a 4/5. Limb is great and Drowned is completely epic – a career highlight honestly – it’s that good. Replay Value: Limb By Limb, Drowned [1] Unfinished. [2] Trey improvised a verse noting: “There's no song about Paul Languedoc, and there's no song about Kuroda; there's only one about Carini, and his lumpy head!" Trey then jokingly talked about the Meatstick Dance being a fad in Japan. [3] Lyrics altered to reference Tokyo, the Meatstick Dance, and sushi. Birds contained a tease of A Love Supreme and was unfinished. Catapult was sung over an atypical jam that bridged Birds and Heavy Things. This gig featured an eventful Meatstick: Sofi Dillof made a guest appearance for the Meatstick dance. Several fans ran on stage and were chased off by Pete Carini and then by Bart Butler, both of whom Trey thanked. Trey improvised a verse noting: “There’s no song about Paul Languedoc, and there’s no song about Kuroda; there’s only one about Carini, and his lumpy head!” Trey then jokingly talked about the Meatstick Dance being a fad in Japan. The lyrics to Cities were altered to reference Tokyo, the Meatstick Dance, and sushi. Antelope included Meatstick teases in the intro. At the end of the second set, Trey thanked the crew (particularly Carini, for being a good sport). Trey mentioned how much of a “home show” it is for the band to play in Holmdel, and led one final Meatstick tease. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.523/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Limb By Limb, Drowned, Birds of a Feather, Sand TEASES A Love Supreme tease in Birds of a Feather, Meatstick tease in Run Like an Antelope
, attached to 1999-09-16

Review by kipmat

kipmat [url]https://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1378203506[/url] From The Phish Book, p. 119: Mike: "Phish and the Dead share certain musical values. We don't make music to revolt against societal institutions in an overtly political way. But at the same time we both try to break radical new ground in whatever small ways we can. Not that our respective bands always reflect sweetness and light. Both the Dead and Phish explore some pretty dark and scary places as a way to celebrate life in all its diversity." The West Coast mentality symbolized by the Grateful Dead may have been foreign to jam bands from New England, but the late 90s saw Phish play some of their best shows in their career by the Pacific Ocean. 9/14/99 Boise and 9/18/99 Chula Vista have both seen official release, but in between those two shows Phish played a two-night stand at Shoreline Amphitheatre that is worthy of reconsideration. Understandably, the first night gets lost in the shadow of the Phil Lesh guest appearance the following night, similar to how Phish stood in the Grateful Dead's shadow throughout the first half of the 90's. The fourteen songs in the first set are a cornucopia of the band's repertoire, including the debut of the new, "Farmhouse" arrangement of Dirt, and a resurrection of Allen Toussaint's On Your Way Down after having not been performed in over 1,000 shows. The arrangement of On Your Way Down is different as well, performed in the manner heard as a bonus track to the Little Feat live album Waiting For Columbus, rather than the original version on the classic Dixie Chicken album faithfully covered by Phish back in the 80's. This bluesy take allows Trey to slow down his phrasing and make his guitar "cry" a little bit, a technique echoed in an extended coda to Billy Breathes later in the set. Trey's whining Leslie-speaker guitar tone also shines in the loops that bring spookiness to the 2001 second-set opener, as well as the killer guitar duel with special guest Warren Haynes during the encore.
, attached to 2000-06-28

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, WEDNESDAY 06/28/2000 PNC BANK ARTS CENTER Holmdel, NJ SET 1: Chalk Dust Torture: Absolutely bonkers! The energy to start this one off is palpable as the first set of the Northeast run gets underway. Trey employs this really cool droning effect in the mid fives and rides that for a good 45 seconds and from there goes forward and blows the roof off the pavilion. The Sloth: Standard. Taste: Good version but the ending is a little messy where they conclude Trey’s peak and then get back into the composed ending. Seems rushed. Bathtub Gin: The runs that Trey rolls out starting around 11:30 are incendiary. Licks of fire! Crowd starts realizing they are seeing something special around 12:30. By 13:30 Trey is making it rain, just absolutely incredible. He is spontaneously combusting on stage. I am covered in goosebumps listening to this. Machine Gun Trey!!!!!!!! Nothing subtle about this jam, it’s all Trey and that beautiful guitar. Easy all timer and highly recommended. At 17:08 Fish indicates Hood, but nothing comes of it. Piper: Standard. If I Could: Played slower than usual. The jam is incredible, Trey is next level. Only 64 times has this tune ever been played. Easy all timer and highly recommended. If I Could was played for the first time since July 31, 1998 (125 shows). Not only that, but this was the first time it had every closed a set. Oddly enough, they shelved this again and would not play it again until 6.2.09, a 103 show gap and like 6.28.00, it closed the first set too and that was the last time it ever got that placement. Phish is weird like that. SET 2: Down with Disease: Strong version, crowd and band both vibing hard off the energy > Harry Hood: About as weak a version as you can get. > Gotta Jibboo: Standard. > When the Circus Comes: Standard. > Mike's Song[1] - Sick version. Just one jam but Trey has a cool them that is very repetitive, dark and intense. Some stop start in this one. Would recommend. Albuquerque: Standard. > Weekapaug Groove: Smokes. ENCORE: First Tube: Sloppy. > Loving Cup: Standard. Summary: Current rating seems high and likely dominated by attendance bias. Energy was through the roof, for sure and Gin is an obvious all timer. Outside of that and the If I Could and Mike’s, this show is very good but is it great? Not sure about that. Would rate it as a 4/5. Replay Value: Bathtub Gin, If I Could, Mike's Song [1] Mid-jam "break," another jam segment, and then another break that led into Albuquerque. Gin contained a San-Ho-Zay tease from Trey. During a glowstick "war" in Hood, Trey caught a few glowsticks and threw them back into the crowd, eliciting a huge cheer from the crowd. Mike’s Song contained a mid-jam "break," another jam segment, and then another break that led into Albuquerque. If I Could was played for the first time since July 31, 1998 (125 shows). SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.541/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Taste, Bathtub Gin, If I Could, Gotta Jibboo, Mike's Song TEASES San-Ho-Zay tease in Bathtub Gin
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2024  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode